Houses and Year Levels

We educate students from 3-year-old Kindergarten to Year 12 across two schools.

3-4-year-old Kindergarten
Prep - Year 6

At the Junior School

Year 7 - Year 12 

At the Senior School

Central to our students’ education is Cura Personalis, the ‘care of the individual’, and the House system and the support and sense of community they provide characterise the experience of a Xavier education.

Beginning in Prep and continuing through to the Senior Years (Year 7 - Year 12), students are allocated a House and participate in friendly competitions, fundraising initiatives and community-building activities together.

In the Senior Years, students experience a vertical House system. From Year 9, students are allocated into one of 10 Houses, and as part of that, a Tutor Group.

Tutor Groups, comprised of up to 10 students from Years 9-12 from within the same House are overseen by an allocated Tutor for the entirety of this four-year journey.

The Tutor Group system not only provides students with peer support from younger and older students, but the Tutor also provides a consistent point of contact and source of pastoral support.

Our Houses

6. Our Houses & Yr Lvls (1)

Senior School

After existing in some form for several decades, in 1977 the system of inter-house sport and activities was restructured. Each house was assigned a housemaster and seven tutors. Within each house boys are split up into these seven tutor groups. Tutor groups meet each day with the tutor acting as mentor. House meetings take place around once a week, lockers are organised according to house and several inter-house sporting events are held each year. In 1991, the houses, previously known by their colour, were given names. In 2010, the new houses of Mackillop and Regis were added.

The Senior School houses are as follows:

  • Bellarmine
  • Cheshire
  • Claver
  • Gonzaga
  • Ignatius 
  • MacKillop
  • Mannix
  • Regis
  • Ricci
  • Spinola

Houses and Year Levels

Junior School

The six houses of the Junior School had existed for many years as Hodgson, Ignatius, Studley, Surbiton, Trawalla, and Waverley. In 1987, two new houses were added and with the exception of Ignatius, the houses were renamed.

The Junior School houses are as follows:

  • Aloysius 
  • Campion
  • Claver
  • Ignatius
  • Loyola
  • Owen
  • Regis
  • Southwell

Early Years Centre, Junior School

Upon its foundation in 2002, separate houses were created for the Early Years Centre students at Burke Hall. They are as follows:

  • Chisholm
  • Favre
  • Berchmans
  • MacKillop

6. Our Houses & Yr Lvls

House Cross Country
House Cross Country
Xavier at The Long Walk
Xavier at The Long Walk
You are invited to discover extraordinary